The Candelabrum

Posted: April 30, 2014 in Friday Fictioneers

Copyright - Renee Heath

Helena Goldberg – the first woman taught the intricate cutting and soldering techniques necessary to create Weisberg Candelabra.
Helena Goldberg – the last woman to leave Minsk ghetto.
She carries a canvas suitcase, lashed with a leather belt. Inside: stockings, worn-out shoes, three hairpins, her last candelabrum.
The train whistle blows – loud, shrill. Dogs bark and throw saliva as they lunge. Children cry. Men and women stand straight-backed and dry-eyed.
She steps before the table, recognizes her neighbor Herzog Schumer on the other side. Always jealous of her he whispers, “Open the case.”
She does.
“Oh,” he simpers, “Herr Heydrich will love this!”

Comments
  1. Amazing job with setting such a dreary and suspenseful story. Especially vivid was the image of the snarling dogs and the sound of the train whistling. Poor Helena, this is clearly a life she wouldn’t wish to choose. Well done!

    Like

  2. Thanks for your kind words, Adelie. I’d hoped to get a feeling of desperation and hopelessness in this piece.

    Like

  3. Sandra says:

    So very atmospheric. The line about the dogs throwing saliva as they lunge was a classic – so evocative.

    Like

  4. Very atmospheric and well-described piece.

    Like

  5. kingsleycw13 says:

    Beautiful, stark. Powerful. Thank you for this. I read your blog but haven’t commented yet – sorry! – but had to on this one: it hit home. I also want to nominate you for the Liebster Award.

The Liebster Award is awarded to bloggers with under 200 followers to try to promote their blog – I hope I counted correctly, apologies if not!
    The rules of the competition are:

    The nominate must provide a link to the person who nominated them.
This is my link:
    http://kingsleycw13.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/liebster-award-nominee/
    Provide 11 facts about yourself.

    Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
    
Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.

    Thank you again – lovely piece.

    Like

    • Thank you! What a wonderful opportunity. I will search out 11 people who blog (I know few) and when I find ones with less than 200 followers I will take advantage of your offer. Thank you for reading AND commenting. Cheers!

      Like

  6. Great story, very powerful and thought-provoking!

    Like

  7. I agree that the line about the dogs really sets the tone. And the neighbor willing to try to find something for which she can be turned in is all too real as well. Well done, Alicia. So many terrible stories from this time.

    janet

    Like

    • Thank you, Janet. I’ve had a fear of dogs since I was chased by what seemed to be an enormous boxer when I was six. If that were true of any Jew during those times, I can only imagine the enhanced terror of their situation. Travel safely.

      Like

  8. Very gripping, well told, and true to life with its depiction of capos who were prominent throughout the Holocaust. Is Helena Goldberg a real person?

    Like

    • Helena only exists in my mind. People like her tromp in and out of my stories and tend to hover when I don’t bring them to life. Thanks for reading The Candelabrum. Alicia

      Like

  9. Amazing storie (or stories) in this.. The pithy revenge in jelousy.. This is why I always doubt humanity… And imagining nazis demonstrating today…

    Like

  10. Alicia, Very vivid picture of what took place with the Nazis hidious treatment of the Jews before and during WWII and those who conspired with them against their neighbors for whatever reasons. Well done.

    Susan

    Like

  11. Desperation and hopelessness, you said. I think you achieved it very well. Great job!

    Like

  12. wmqcolby says:

    Good to read something of an historic nature. This is unique — a candelabrum creator. Fascinating.

    Like

  13. Thank you. I tried to see beyond that wonderful waterfall of wax.

    Like

  14. Judah First says:

    Gripping tale and so believable – historically as well. Nice job.

    Like

  15. subroto says:

    This is scarier than any tales of imaginary demons and ghouls, only because of the simple fact that it actually happened. Beautifully done.

    Like

  16. elappleby says:

    Gripping and wonderfully vivid descriptions. You captured the plight of Helena beautifully.

    Like

  17. Those were dark times and we need this sort of story to ensure we don’t forget. Well done.

    Like

  18. Good atmospheric story tinged with sadness

    Like

  19. draliman says:

    Very powerful story about such a dark time in history.

    Like

  20. Fantastic, Alicia! I love this one… as horrifying as it is. Ironically, my family and I were talking about holocaust stories last night. This is very atmospheric and potent. I could hear, see and feel it!

    Like

  21. Amazing story, transported me back in time. Great job!

    Like

  22. Sun says:

    your character, Helena, hooked me right into her situation. well told story, Alicia.

    Like

  23. Amazing story! I felt like I was there with your Helena. Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

