The Fix

Posted: June 4, 2014 in Friday Fictioneers

I will be gone much of this week and all of next. I try to read every submission each week but will fail miserably this time. I will give it my best shot and apologize ahead of time to those I miss. Catch you on the 18th of June. Alicia

PHOTO PROMPT Copyright - Douglas M. MacIlroy

Andrew wakes to twelve pinpricks of light-
smells wax, sweet smoke and expectation

Body smeared with oily sweat
he leaps to his feet and
does a devil dance
until his eyes rest upon Lilliana

She is still here
Red nail polish glinting in the candle flames
she offers the pipe

Andrew accepts
With slow anticipation
he presses the stem to his lips
Fills his lungs

Ah, yessss, the sensory grace of
opium warms him
He reclines on his left side –
easier to pass and receive the
pipe this way

Andrew’s eyes close
He smiles as the
waves of regret subside

Comments
  1. Sandra says:

    Sounds like an interesting way to put the past behind you. Nicely done.

    Like

  2. paulmclem says:

    An opium den came to my mind as well – you did a nice job with it. BTW your link to FF at the bottom of the story is displaying as raw HTML.

    Like

    • Thanks. I’m a computer idiot but will try to figure it out. I always feel pretty lucky I can even post to FF. And thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. Alicia

      Like

      • draliman says:

        If you switch the post editor to “text” mode rather than “visual mode” and then paste the inlinkz code in it should display correctly 🙂

        Like

      • Thank you! I always seem to skip a step. Think I’ll leave it as is. Won’t it post The Fix twice if I paste it to Inlinkz again? I REALLY appreciate your help with this.

        Like

  3. Really descriptive.

    Like

  4. Waves of regret ..I think you may mean subside?
    It does sound lime an interesting way to relieve yourself of the baggage.

    Like

    • Dawn. Bless you for catching that mistake. Yikes! Was awake from 1 am to 3 am worrying about things that can’t be fixed (and probably don’t matter) at that hour.

      I believe many people try to fix “baggage” through drugs and drink. Thanks for stopping by to read The Fix.

      Like

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Alicia,

    Don’t ever sweat the not making it to every story of comment. It is hard to do and we all have lives.

    A lovely, atmospheric poem.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  6. Dear Alicia,

    There’s no need to feel that you have to comment on everything.

    You certainly set the tone and I could almost choke on the smoke. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  7. Such vivid description. Like you, I’ve never used opium, so I’ll just believe this is the typical experience. We all cope with things differently….This was so gripping!

    Like

  8. Thank you, Adelie. Some of the stuff I read about opium was very sad. Addiction is a curse. Glad you found the story compelling, Alicia

    Like

  9. Alicia, Your story was very realistic. You did your research well. An addiction to anything is avoidance. I’ve never been able to avoid as I’m usually the responsible person who has to take charge. I’ve found that you do what you have to do. I try to not judge others as I haven’t had their experiences. Well written. 🙂 —Susan.

    Like

    • Susan, as one who has been severely judged I admire the fact that you try to avoid judgement until you have “walked in another’s shoes.” I try to live by those words. Thanks for reading and taking the time to make such a thoughtful reply.

      Like

  10. Jan Brown says:

    A very moody piece, and a very original interpretation of the prompt!

    Like

  11. draliman says:

    I feel sorry for them – it sounds like they spend all their waking hours smoking away the past. I could see this scene in my mind very clearly!

    Like

    • Thanks. During the research I did, I read an account of a fellow who lit of thirty times a day. That’s what I think opium dens are all about. Cheers. And thanks again for helping me with my posting problem.

      Like

  12. “Waves of regret subside” … so apposite, especially with that lovely painting in the foreground on that glowing I-Pad!
    I loved the atmosphere and the haze through which the words emerged.

    Like

  13. Very well written… you put us right in the room with them. Nice work.

    Like

  14. An evocative look at the mind of an addict – the trouble with subsiding waves is that they come back with the turn of the tide. Well captured 🙂

    Like

  15. Once you’re trapped.. I bet this is just how it feels.. What a strong description

    Like

  16. Would that waves of regret were so easily banished and would stay banished beyond the pipe. Very sensitive and emotional story. Of such is addiction often made when life has turned out unbearably wrong.

    Like

  17. K.Z. says:

    waves of regret subside… loved that line. very well written… the descriptions you used were great.

    Like

  18. I could almost feel the smoke in. You created a very beautiful piece.

    Like

  19. rgayer55 says:

    That’s one way to put regret behind you. Very well written scene.

    Like

  20. pattisj says:

    It’s sad that this is truth for so many hurting people. You did a great job on your research.

    Like

  21. Ah yes, I imagine everything feels better after chasing the dragon… although only temporarily! And then addiction strikes… Well done!

    Like

  22. Thanks. I guess temporary dragon chasing is all some can get. Thanks for reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

