A Very Strange Will

Posted: April 1, 2015 in Friday Fictioneers
Tags: , , , ,

 

Lauren Moscato

 

Old Mrs. Walinski asked Federico to do the oddest jobs.
Last fall she’d said, “Wrap the eaves with aluminium foil. Case them aliens come to find me.”
When the temperature reached ninety-nine she had him spray canned Christmas snow on her truck.
“Cools it off,” she’d said.
This year? “Put a door in the upper bathroom. No stairs. Don’t want no burglars comin’ in.”

Neighbors called her crazy, but Federico liked the old lady.
Her final request? “When I croak, dig up the peony.”
Federico did. He found a box crammed with one hundred dollar bills and a note –
Federico – don’t waste this on foolishness.

Comments
  1. micklively says:

    Mrs Walinski sounds like my kind of woman. 😉

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    Good one Alicia; she was a true character.

    Like

  3. ansumani says:

    Nice one…Kind old lady…

    Like

  4. k rawson says:

    Love it. Ton of story packed into those 100 words. Bravo!

    Like

  5. I like her sense of humour!

    Like

  6. I loved that Alicia! That last sentence made it all tie in so perfectly! haha! Now he knows why he likes her. 😀

    Like

  7. A fun and generous soul. Way to lighten it up Alicia!

    Like

  8. You gotta look past the craziness to see the kindness in others. I always say that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. draliman says:

    Fun story! I loved Mrs Walinski’s final comment in the note.

    Like

  10. Dear Alicia,

    Delightful characters followed by a delightful ending. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  11. plaridel says:

    enjoyed reading this. one of your very best.

    Like

  12. Jan Brown says:

    Yes, it definitely made me smile. Now I’m off to buy a ladder, so I can wrap my eaves in foil 😀

    Like

  13. gahlearner says:

    That was fun, with wonderful characters. I really like that old lady, and the story. 🙂

    Like

  14. great story. light, airy, funny

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Very cute story and that’s why it’s always good to be kind to crazy and off beat people. You may just wind up with your own Mrs. Walinski!

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Oh, I do so love mega-eccentrics like Mrs Walinski and, in my estimation, the world would be a sadder place without them. You have portrayed her character so well.

    Like

  17. very nice! Shows the rewards of helping without judgement 🙂

    Like

  18. milliethom says:

    I’d have loved to meet this eccentric old lady! But, when all’s said and done, her heart was in the right place. She truly valued Frederico’s help and he got his just reward. A lovely story, Alicia – and not in the least ‘dark and sad’. I love the way you’ve portrayed both Mrs. Walinski and FRederico. 🙂

    Like

  19. Amy Reese says:

    Looks like listening to Mrs. Walinski paid off for Frederico. I guess she’s not as crazy as all that. This has so much color and life! Great story, Alicia.

    Like

  20. Margaret says:

    Fun characters and a wonderful, happy ending. Unexpected, too.

    Like

  21. I’m so glad she left him some money and he took the time to find it.

    Like

  22. She was a character with an eccentric way of life. It was his lack of judegment of her ways that helped Federico in the end. Love this story. A happy ending …!!! 😎

    Like

  23. A great character and a great story. I liked Fredrico too, I suspect he put the money to good use

    Like

  24. Melanie says:

    Good for Federico. I’m glad he was available to Old Mrs. Walinski, and was rewarded for his patience and work.

    Like

  25. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Alicia – I like your story! I hope Federico uses the money for fun! Nan 🙂

    Like

  26. rgayer55 says:

    Great story, Alicia. It was the most fun of all I read based on this prompt.

    Like

  27. Fun and lively, I like the characters so much. Well done, Alicia!

    Like

  28. Great twist at the end, Alicia. She wasn’t as crazy as people thought. It literally payed to be her friend. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  29. Thank you, Suzanne. I always like it when you stop by. Alicia

    Like

  30. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Alicia,

    I am trying to catch up on reading and am so glad I found your story. I am smiling at the way you reeled me in with Mrs. Walinski’s imaginative eccentricities and Frederico’s gentleness and then hit us with the great ending and final words from your protagonist. Just a lovely piece of story telling.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  31. subroto says:

    Loved this one, it made me smile.

    Like

  32. Creatopath says:

    This was funny. I liked how you incorporated the windows, door and truck in your story and the ending was brilliant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

