Too Late?

Posted: May 27, 2015 in Friday Fictioneers

Another Wednesday, another Friday Fictioneer photo prompt posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Thanks to Doug MacIlroy for this thought provoking picture. Many ideas came and went before I came up with these 74 words.

pleisiosaur_

Old and tired
I have done my best.
Centuries have flowed in and around me
bringing turmoil, taking peace.
Time and time again
I have tried to explain,
inform,
make things better for you, for us, for them.
Stop taking, give more.
Pay attention!

Ears closed
no one listens.
Eyes shadowed
no one sees.
And so it is that we,
seemingly welded together
by our never ending mistakes,
are hurtling toward a calamitous end.

Comments
  1. gahlearner says:

    I stand in awe. 😀 This is fabulous.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I read this back quite a few times to do it justice. It has a wonderful punchy tempo which makes it very alive. I loved “Stop taking, give more. Pay attention!” Kind of feels like I’ve been slapped round the face with a kipper half way through recital.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sabine says:

    Good one, Lish!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. yarnspinnerr says:

    I just repeat what gahlearner says. 🙂

    Like

  5. This is just perfect. and so sad… when will we ever listen?

    Like

  6. Spot on rhythm that really suits the message.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amy Reese says:

    It would seem no one is paying attention, Alicia. This has a nice rhythm and such an important message for us all. If the fish could talk. Nice job.

    Like

  8. Seems to bespeak of all living things throughout all of time and their ultimate fate. That’s what I get anyway and it sure works for me. Thanks, Alicia!

    Like

  9. plaridel says:

    it sounds like mother earth talking.

    Like

  10. Margaret says:

    Deserved chastisement. I’m glad you added a question mark to the title – leaves perhaps a ray of hope that enough of us are listening and seeing to make a difference. Wonderful poetry.

    Like

  11. Dear Alicia,

    Forty years ago when a generation rose up and spoke of ecology, going back to nature, taking care of the earth, they were discounted as “tree-hugging hippies.” Now “going green” is big business. Too late? I wonder. Monsanto and GMO opens its mouth to devour as the earth itself is ready to swallow us in our folly.

    There, I just wrote more words than your story. I guess I feel strongly about this. Well done as always, my dear.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  12. draliman says:

    Amazing poem and great message. I loved it all, but particularly the first 4 lines of the second verse.

    Like

  13. Great poem and even better sentiments. You are right — no-one listens and a calamitous end is indeed a possibility.

    Like

  14. Well done. “Calamitous end” makes a 100 words stretch on forever.
    Tracey

    Like

  15. Not too calamitous too soon I hope! I’ve still got lots do like saving the world before it’s too late!
    Rosey Pinkerton’s blog

    Like

  16. Awesome poem Alicia! I am afraid what it says is true. Sadly.

    Like

  17. This is good poetry. Who is the narrator here, I wonder. The planet?

    Liked by 1 person

  18. MissTiffany says:

    Read it out loud to do it justice. Lovely.

    Like

  19. afairymind says:

    A beautiful, thoughtful poem! Great take on the prompt. 🙂

    Like

  20. rgayer55 says:

    I’m reminded of the old song “Where Have All The Flowers Gone,” especially the last line of the chorus, “when will they ever learn.” Evidently, the answer is never.

    Beautifully written, as several of the comments have attested.

    Like

  21. I remember that song- it was so popular when I was a teen (I liked it then got really tired of hearing the overplayed lyrics). Thank you for stopping by to read and appreciating my work. Alicia

    Like

  22. Jan Brown says:

    All too true, unfortunately.

    Really loved this. Interesting how you wove the concept and image of welding into the piece. Well done!

    Like

  23. subroto says:

    “Stop taking, give more” now that is a lesson to be learned! Nice poetic take on the prompt.

    Like

  24. Really good, Alicia. It flows along, warning us of impending danger if we continue in the same way. Greed seems to be driving many. Well done. — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

