A Fairy Tale

Posted: June 29, 2016 in Friday Fictioneers
Tags: , , ,

NOTICE:
PRINCESS SADAR WILL MARRY THE MAN
WHO PRESENTS A GIFT NO WOMAN HAS EVER RECEIVED
AND CAN NEVER BE GIVEN AGAIN.

For one hundred years Mulvane had coveted Sadar
with her yellow hair and sapphire eyes.
So in the fall he collected pure tree resin
in a solid silver jar.
In the dead of winter, he gathered delicate
ice crystals and slowly lowered them inside the resin
to leave impressions as they melted.

He waited two thousand years
while hundreds of men brought Sadar offerings.
When Mulvane presented her with crystalline shadows
frozen in blue amber
her smile said yes.

https://static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js

Comments
  1. Margaret says:

    That’s true devotion – and patience. I’m so glad Mulvane won his bride. He’s a true artist and deserves to succeed. A lovely, fanciful story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this very much.
    Not sure I have seen you around lately, glad to have you back.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandra says:

    I like a thoughtful man, particularly one blessed with patience too. Nice to see you back, Alicia.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If just we could have a patience like that… love the way you present this, the thought of creating your own ember… wonderful

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow he is patient! I’ve missed your stories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Alicia,

    The patience of Job has nothing on the patience of Mulvane. Great to see you back! 😀

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like Mulvane’s gift. What a beautiful fairy tale, and what a delicately-conceived of gift from the lover to his beloved! Lovely story-telling!

    (So happy to see you here on FF, especially after we’d just conversed via email! I’ve missed you!)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. draliman says:

    His patience paid off. I’m glad they’re long-lived! Sweet story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. gahlearner says:

    I think his patience is the part of the gift that can never be given again, because no one else would ever again have so much patience. What a lovely story, it draws me right into a magical world.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Amy Reese says:

    I love the description of the impressions as crystalline shadows. So lovely. So great to see you back. I’ve been wondering about you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Amy. At the end of March, I got the dreaded 2 a.m. “Come quick, it’s Mom.” call. I flew from Seattle to Denver in a hurry. For two months my sisters and I, with the help of hospice, took care of our mother and 95-year-old father. Mom died on June 2nd; then we took care of our dad until we got him into assisted living. Home on June 28th. A long haul without a computer. I missed FF terribly. Glad to be back.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amy Reese says:

        I’m so sorry, Alicia. That’s some sad news. If there’s anything I can do, please let me know. I lost my father last year. It’s hard. I feel for you. Glad that you’re back. Welcome back.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I thought of you often while helping my mother and working with my father, remembering that you had recently lost your dad. Thanks for your offer of help. It’s hard to ask . . . one never REALLY knows what one needs. I sure you realize that.

    Like

  12. I must have read this on my phone and then forgot to come back and comment. “Frozen shadows in blue amber”, what a lovely description. My favorite tale at FF this week.
    Take care of yourself,
    Tracey

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your thoughts mean the world to me. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a chance to participate in FF. The most important thing that held me back was that I didn’t have access to a computer in order to read other people’s work.
      Glad you stopped by to comment. Cheers! Tracey.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Beautiful story Alicia. She set her standards high and he looked deep within himself to find what she needed. I suspect they will have thousands of happy years together! Good to see you back and my condolences on your loss x

    Like

    • I believe they will. Thanks for reading and leaving a comment, and welcoming me back. I have missed you all. Losing Mom was a tough one. I appreciate your kind thoughts.

      Like

  14. liz young says:

    What a beautiful gift, though only in fairy tales would she have remained young enough to be still desirable!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Dahlia says:

    What a lovely little fairy tale – been long since I read such a sweet one 🙂

    Like

  16. Welcome back, Alicia. Good mythical story stressing patience and true love. That would indeed be a unique gift. Well written. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  17. That is lovely. He deserves her.

    Like

  18. rgayer55 says:

    Wow, that’s a long time. I wonder if they dated others during those two thousand years? She obviously had other suitors. I thought he was going to do something really crazy. You know, like wash the dishes or vacuum the carpet. From what I hear, that really sweeps a girl off her feet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

