The Offer

Posted: January 23, 2017 in What Pegman Saw

Another delightful prompt from What Pegman Saw. Thanks K Rawling for coming up with this delightful idea.

safe_image-1

If I asked you to meet me here
would you come?
Would you leave your husband?
Your wife?
Your children?
Mother? Father?
Your God?

If I promised you
a world
glimmering with
gold and silver
heavy with
turquoise and diamonds
pearls of every color
armies beyond all imagining…
Would you leave
everything,
everyone behind?
Would you?

For in the world I offer,
my world,
wine flows,
angel music fills the air
The laughter of one-hundred children
brightens the night
against the clatter of swords
and human desire

Here?
There are no tears. Not one.
No sorrow. No wanting.
For I,
me
the best of them all
fulfill
every need
Every expectation

And you, my friend,
will be forever young
Lithe and beautiful
Strong and brave
You will live forever
under my watch
with my help

Without me?
Please don’t refuse
What will happen?
Do not find out

https://www.inlinkz.com/cs.php?id=690670

Comments
  1. Lynn Love says:

    Such a glorious image you create there, Alicia. A beautiful world filled with wonders, worth leaving anything and anyone for. And then … you sneak that hard edge in at the end, that sinister tone that reminds us that nothing is free, every thing has to be paid for and choice is not an option.
    Mesmerising

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dear Lish,

    Beautifully written and sinister. I have to wonder who’s making such an offer she can’t refuse. I love the photo you chose.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks and thanks. I’m thinking it’s the devil making such an offer. (Shoulder shrug.) I will get to other Pegman submissions soon. I almost didn’t do it this week then went to a meeting of our local OHA that kinda’ made me grumpy. Too much bad mouthing of others in charge. Glad you stopped by, as always.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I kind of thought it had a Satanic feel to it. So I wasn’t off in my thinking. I’m 6 for 6 on Pegman but each week I think I might skip it because of all the other things going on…ie Friday Fictioneers. On the other hand, all I have to do for this one is choose the view of the location I want to use and write a story. No cat herding. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • As someone in the FF litter, I appreciate your herding – always. ; – )

        Like

  3. k rawson says:

    Glorious and frightening at the same time. Gave me goosebumps. Wonderfully done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think it could still be a love poem because there’s always a price even in love.
    Loved it,
    T

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is great. I love the rhythm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

