A Man Scorned

Posted: February 4, 2017 in What Pegman Saw

This 148-word “poem” (parenthesis because I don’t consider myself a poet by any means) is for the weekly What Pegman Saw writing challenge. How wonderful that K Rawson, our fearless leader, picked my suggestion of Norway for the Google Map prompt. Thanks, K!
hammerfest-norway-5

My heart is on fire
My lungs hurt
My skin ripples with pain
even as it
swells with longing and lust

The small, golden threads
of love
and laughter
you left behind

Have shredded

Transformed themselves
into unbidden thoughts
of destruction
Angles of regret

Pools of anger

If I had given you
one more smile
a happier home
another child
A beautiful child
My soul

Would you have stayed?

Don’t answer
It makes no difference
Because I offered
all that

And gave you more

My love
Carried on a bed
of one thousand stars
supported by
four crescents of the moon

All I had

Yes, my heart is on fire
but the flames are no longer
fed by embers of hope

Keep an eye over one shoulder
One ear to the east
the other one west

For I am coming
to deliver
what you richly deserve

 

https://static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js
<!– end InLinkz script

Comments
  1. Evocative and wrenching. Nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    I’m no expert on poetry either but that was powerful, emotional writing, which I guess is what poetry should be. Thanks for the inspiration this week 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Dear Lish,

    I would call it a poem…a powerful one at that. Evocative. Well done as always.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Rochelle. I think I hang out with too many poets, or perhaps not enough of them. Sometimes the word limits in What Pegman Saw and Friday Fictioneers steer me in that direction. Appreciate your kind words. Lish

      Like

  4. k rawson says:

    Moving and beautifully written piece.

    Thanks for the suggestion this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jellico84 says:

    ooouuu, ouch. Now, that is a not so veiled threat if I ever heard one.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. prior.. says:

    wonderful prose and had a nice flow – and goes perfect with the mystique in the Norway photo you selected

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

