Puberty

Posted: April 29, 2017 in What Pegman Saw

I’ve never fit in. Never will.
I’m stupid. And ugly. Doubt I’ll ever have a girlfriend.
I feel like I’m just watching the world whizz by. Whizz. Whizz Whizzzzzz.
Everything’s a blur.
Mom says I’m just feeling sorry for myself. Should get out more.
What the hell does she know? She doesn’t fit in anywhere either! She never goes out,
says she’s too fat.
And she dresses all in white. Looks like a gigantic ghost floating around the house. Wish she was a ghost and would disappear.
POOF
Dumber than a box of rocks, too.
Look what she done to the twins. Didn’t give them names, just numbers. 19 and 88.
How my supposed to bring someone to the house and introduce them to my whacked-out family?
Plus she made me join the boy scouts and won’t let me wear anything but this creepy brown uniform.
God! Just shoot me now!

(150 words)

Pegman took us to Chicago today where I found this very depressed young man who told me his story. When he was done I thought Puberty is tough. (And no, I didn’t shoot him.)

https://static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js

Comments
  1. Great sketch, Lish. Reminds me a little of Gilbert Grape. We have a fifteen-year-old son and I can attest to the accuracy of your portrayal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • About halfway through, I realized the story did seem a bit Gilbert Grape-ish. But by that time I’d been through too many edits. Glad it worked, though. I’ve never had kids but I remember thinking life was terribly hard when going through puberty. Thanks for reading, Lish

      Liked by 1 person

  2. k rawson says:

    That is a true story of teen angst. Poor guy. I want to tell him it gets better. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, yes. Whenever anyone longs for the good ole days, I quickly say No Thanks. Teenaged years are not something I want to relive. Good story, well told as usual.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Lish,

    Sounds like one bizarre family. Although I wonder how much is truth and how much is teenage angst. Either way…I’m thinking Ferris Beuller’s Day Off. Fun and funny.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  5. James says:

    Hopefully things will get better…or he’ll get shot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

