An Ode to Hitler

Posted: May 6, 2017 in Uncategorized

Pegman took us to the Yorkshire Dales today. I think seeing The Promise last week drew me back to the dark side of life. I apologize. Anyway, here is my 147-word story from Yorkshire. (Thanks, K. Rawson for providing an inspiring place to write!)

We met at a crossing between life and death.
Both of us treading lightly over a tarnished silver lining.
You lost your wife.
I lost my mother father brothers
and a sister.
But during those endless years, everyone lost someone.
Maybe, compared to other’s grief our’s carried no weight.
Babies died.
Babies were murdered.
Babies – of which we had none.
But the grief we felt was crushingly heavy.
We stumbled, you and I, before falling so deep we had no desire to survive.
Still, anger kept us alive.
We did our work, ate our bread and fought for watery soup.
Slept in rags on splintered boards balanced above skittering mice.
Sixty years later we sit, saying nothing.
There is no need.
Your twisted back and my childless womb say it all in a voice so loud it should shatter glass.
YOU COULD NOT KILL US ALL

https://static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js
<!– end InLinkz script —

Comments
  1. Lovely, sad, defiant. I like the rhythm of this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. k rawson says:

    Wow, wrenching, moving, dark–and as J Hardy points out, the defiance adds a dimension that makes this piece stand out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynn Love says:

    ‘Your twisted back and my childless womb say it all in a voice so loud it should shatter glass.’
    Such a wonderful line, Alicia! Says so much about the legacy survivors were left with. So wonderfully written – strong voice throughout too. Super stuff

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Lynn! Your comments mean a lot to me.
      I was looking at those uber cool stone houses, too. I’m glad you wrote about the Mystified Cottage. You truly did it justice. Plus I learned a thing or two. Thanks for including the link about the hat. Interesting stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lynn Love says:

        Thank so much Alicia. That’s sort of a problem I find about the Pegman prompt – so easy to be distracted, wandering along the highways and byways of the world … Thanks again 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jan Brown says:

    Powerful! More poetry than prose, which makes it even more poignant.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This one had a strong ethereal ring to it. More poetic than prose. What a nicely etched story.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Lish,

    Powerful survivor’s story, not unlike the ones that are fading away before our eyes. May we never forget. I haven’t seen The Promise–yet. When will the question be answered? Why?

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly the question I asked after leaving The Promise. I just don’t get it!!! It will be sad when people “forget” completely. Hopefully, the Holocaust Museum will remain a stark reminder. Thanks, Rochelle.

      Like

  7. Sarah Ann says:

    Definitely you’ve gone back to the dark side. Very strong – full of history and emotion. And even amongst all the despair, their defiance shines through.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jellico84 says:

    wow! … wow… how does one find the words to express your depth here? wow. I almost didn’t read given the title. Now, I’m sitting here stunned. wow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

