Accident?

Posted: May 24, 2017 in What Pegman Saw
Tags: , , , ,

Thanks, J Hardy Carroll, for a thought-provoking picture and thanks, Rochelle, for posting it in order to inspire the Friday Fictioneer group to hop to our computers on a Wednesday morning. After chop, chop, chopping my story weighs in at 99-words.

Anna collected fractured glass of all sizes, and shapes. Cerulean blue: perfume bottles. Crimson red: Christmas bobbles. Brown: shattered beer growlers from drunken nights. She scoured gutters beaches dumpsters to find perfect shades.

In her kitchen, Anna fit the glass corner-to-corner, side-by-side creating stained-glass pictures of forests, animals, people, so intricate they looked alive. She sold her artwork at the farmer’s market for pennies and was pleased. Her do-nothing husband was not.

After the fire, her remaining art sold at auction for hundreds. But the one her husband knew would bring the most money had gone missing.

https://static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js

Comments
  1. BASTARD! Loved the first paragraph with the different coloured glass. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    I think the 2nd dead artist this week! At least her husband didn’t get away with everything he wanted. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those broken windows in the back, and the non-linear lines around them reminded me of hanging stained glass work. It wasn’t until I enlarged the picture that I realized they were broken windows. I’ll need to search out the first dead artist! I haven’t read anyone’s work, yet. Thanks, Iain

      Liked by 1 person

  3. k rawson says:

    Artful rendering of the artist and her art and I loved the twist at the end.

    Like

  4. Well written story. Subtle accusation at the end gives one room to speculate.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. draliman says:

    Nice piece, I have a clear image of her hunting around for bits and pieces to make her art and then selling them at the market.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sandra says:

    I love stained glass pieces. You brought this to life, Alicia.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Liz Young says:

    I hope whoever took the artwork deserved it more than he did.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dear Lish,

    One of my closest friends is a glass artist…in a farmer’s market. So I thought of her. Although she dumped the excess baggage years ago. 😉 Loved your descriptions. Well written.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lynn Love says:

    Have to agree with the others – gorgeously written, vivid descriptions and all those wonderful colours. A sad ending for such a creative soul. I think you could make this a longer piece – it’s a real mystery in miniature 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    You developed the feeling of all the hard work that goes into stained glass pieces really well. I hope she hid the piece really well.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ooh, he’s a scoundrel! The artwork sounds amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. granonine says:

    Beastly man. Too bad he won’t get to cash in on that one work of art.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dale says:

    Loved the descriptions. What an ass of a husband… Funny how he was ready to profit after her demise… not kosher

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Dahlia says:

    I am sure her best work is yet to come but by then her husband would have lost his golden egg laying goose! Great story and twist 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Sarah Ann says:

    Delicious descriptions in your first paragraph and you paint the husband well. I’m left wondering who Anna gave the expensive piece to and hoping she had someone who loved and will miss her.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. What a terrible being that husband… Hope he’s served broken glass to eat.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. michael1148humphris says:

    Lovely use of the broken windows, pity about the husband, he must have been nuts

    Liked by 1 person

  18. plaridel says:

    perhaps he was intending to surprise her with a gift or something. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Michael Wynn says:

    Great tale which had me screaming at the insensitive b****** Parasite and total loser that he is

    Liked by 1 person

  20. How sad. He’ll probably drink up the money she worked so hard for. At least she was appreciated by some. I’m also glad he didn’t get the best one. Good writing, Alicia. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  21. subroto says:

    Lovely descriptions to start the story. I’d like to think she slipped away under the cover of the fire with her favourite piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. James says:

    Well, that’s depressing. Let the bum go. Hope her art becomes insanely popular and she earns what she’s worth.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Grrrr … sometimes men can be so cold. This is a great take on the prompt, Alicia.
    As an artist, I’m aware of the beautiful stained glass creations glass artists can make.
    I was tempted to go in that dircetion when I saw the stained glass hangings.
    I’m glad I didn’t your story is perfect. I enjoyed the description of the colors. It brought the
    artist to life.
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  24. This is so true to life. Her husband reminds me of somebody I once knew, fortunately no husband of mine but, nevertheless, somebody who I knew well enough for his behaviour to have left a bad taste in my mouth. Destructive people will never appreciate creative beauty. So sad D:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

