May You Find it in Time

Posted: June 19, 2017 in What Pegman Saw
Tags: , , , ,

Today Pegman took us to Dubai. Here is my 150-word story about that opulent city.


So much water. Blue as a single droplet clinging to a spike of grass. Bluer than my mother’s favorite cotton dress. And, sometimes, testier than my father. I suppose it would be advantageous to thank you for bringing me to your city of bright lights and big money, for once you loved me. Me a skinny, black-skinned girl from Darfur where water is as precious as your golden rings and diamonds. I remember the afternoon we met. Do you? I had walked five miles to draw water from the borehole, been raped by two Janjaweed soldiers. No, I correct myself, Janjaweed beasts. You, collector of rarities, saw beyond the bruises on my face, into my heart of kindness, or so you said. Now? I am too dark. Too primitive. Too stupid. I carry your child yet you send me back. Do not worry. You might find the Nazar in time.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nazar_(amulet)

<!– start InLinkz script –>

https://static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js
<!– end InLinkz script –>

Comments
  1. k rawson says:

    Oh I ache and anger for her! Wonderfully done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I feel for the women of Darfur and do my best to save water, collecting it in a watering can when I rinse the coffee pot or dinner plates. I turn off the water when I soap up in the shower. I can’t imagine what those women go through every day. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Lish,

    Such an infuriatingly beautiful story. Well written as always.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Rochelle. I often get angry about the overuse of water. Like the man who took a 20-minute shower at the Y today (could hear the water running during yoga.) I say, “Get in soap up, rinse off and get out.” But that’s just me. I was raised that way. Glad you liked my story.

      Like

  3. James says:

    So she gave him the evil eye. Sounds like a lot of people in her life need to meet a bad end.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Ann says:

    Love the different descriptions of blue suggesting the water buy tying in to the Nazar as well. She has such a strong voice and will survive whatever happens. Him? I’m not so sure, spoilt as he has been.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

