A Silent Prayer

Posted: June 21, 2017 in Friday Fictioneers
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m a bit late to the party, but I needed to have a discussion with a rather large friend in order to get his ideas about the way things are progressing in his pod. We shared mackerel paste and tea. I’ve narrowed down his diatribe to 100-words.Thanks to Ted Strutz and Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for this week’s photo prompt – the ferry to San Juan Island, I believe.

I want nothing from you nor do I need to give you anything.
Let me be and in turn, I will avoid you.
Our kind has plowed these waters for hundreds of years, moving in groups or alone.
Your kind stalks us in boats, turns us into piles of bones and barrels of oil.
You show no mercy.
You slaughter pregnant females and babies.
Our males are scarred by your explosive harpoons.
Now is the time to enjoy our beauty, listen to our songs, learn from us.
Or just leave us alone.
Do it!
Do it now!
Before time runs out.

https://static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js

Comments
  1. Lynn Love says:

    A sad, sound story Alicia. Yes, we’ve plundered the seas for too long, taken too little care. Let’s hope we can change. Nicely done

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’re so right! I googled the Japan whale take this year. 300 some odd whales killed for “scientific study” although the meat goes to market. A picture showed a whale and her calf being drug onto the ship by their tales. Very sad. Thanks for reading.

      Like

  2. neilmacdon says:

    I’m not generally a fan of talking animals. But for this I’ll make an exception

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how you have let the whale do the telling… a sad fact how we have treated our gentle giants…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Bjorn! I saw a slideshow about two months ago produced by a couple who traveled the Scotia Arc. Their group stopped at an old whaling station – I can’t remember exactly where – and the statistics on the number of whales processed at that spot made me cringe.

      Like

  4. Dear LIsh,

    Like Neil, I’m not a huge fan of talking animals. It often doesn’t work and becomes trite and, if you will, just plain goofy. I’m happy to say that yours did not. It packed a wallop besides. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dale says:

    I was going to echo Neil but Rochelle already did and I have to agree, I didn’t even think of this as talking animals… but the message is loud and clear and beautifully done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your “giant friend” had me wondering. But you delivered with a great payoff. Nice!

    Like

  7. michael1148humphris says:

    Sometimes I feel sad for the whole ocean,

    Liked by 1 person

  8. wmqcolby says:

    I guess I’m in the minority, but I think the seas have a lot more to offer us than we imagine. Of course, with that comes the responsibility of making our natural resources, like we do on land.

    Nice poem and wonderfully done, appropriate message. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, boy, me too! Thanks, Michael.They’re discovering new things all the time. I do hope we learn to manage them and the things we already know about in order to allow everything to survive. Thanks for spreading hope!

      Like

  9. wmqcolby says:

    That should be managing, not making.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. granonine says:

    I could almost see the whales diving and smashing the water with their tails 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yes! I love this. Give the whales a voice.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. draliman says:

    So many animals in the sea and on the land hunted to (near) extinction. Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. plaridel says:

    if whales can talk… this is just sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. rgayer55 says:

    While reading the comments I remember seeing photos of huge piles of buffalo bones. The entire species practically wiped out for their hides. We do it on land, at sea, and in the air. If there’s a dollar to be made from fish or fowl, man will do his damnest to get every last dime. Well written, Lish.

    *Personally, I enjoy talking animals. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. yarnspinnerr says:

    Back to cannibalism in few decades. (I wonder?)

    Liked by 1 person

  16. jellico84 says:

    An interesting conversation, indeed! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I enjoyed your new way of approaching the writing of this story. I thought it was clever. It had a much more powerful punch. Sad … the way we’re destroying everything. Well written, Alicia. Hopefully, changes will begin.
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    That was a punch in gut. Such sadness beautifully written.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. tedstrutz says:

    This is the one leaving San Juan Island. When are you guys going to get on that ferry and come visit me?

    Heartfelt story.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. What a brilliant way to tell a story. Excellent.

    My story – ‘An empty bottle’

    Like

  21. Yes! Let’s just leave them alone! Wonderful! :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Michael Wynn says:

    Great plea and they need to be heard, as you say, before it’s too late. Nicely done

    Liked by 2 people

  23. When humans come everything else has to give way. I can sit here safely and lament, now that the buffalo’s gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. This could be a metaphor for so many things.
    I enjoy stories that make you think a bit.
    Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Oh, that yearly slaughter is terrible. ‘Scientific study’ is an excuse pure and simple. It’s sickening. Good writing, Alicia. —- Suzanne

    Like

  26. Sarah Ann says:

    This prayer has been said many times. Indeed let’s hope it is heard before it’s too late.
    Such a strong matter-of-fact voice your whale has, evoking strong emotions.

    Like

  27. Liz Young says:

    I love this point of view – and now we’re killing them with plastic disguised as food.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. I love the line ‘Now is the time to enjoy our beauty, listen to our songs, learn from us.’ So very true.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. subroto says:

    Beautiful. I just saw a terrible video where a whale died after ingesting a pile of plastic. We need to respect these majestic creatures.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Miles Rost says:

    Daaaaang. There’s a LOT of emotion here. Quite well done, mi lady!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Laurie Bell says:

    Indeed. I can hear the anguished cries. Well told

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Sad but true. Yes, one day we will leave them alone and only listen to their songs. Of that I am certain 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

