Deliverance Redux

Posted: June 24, 2017 in What Pegman Saw
Tags: , , ,

Pegman sailed us to Pitcairn Island today. Usually, I don’t read other writer’s stories before I write mine, but I read k rawson’s wee tale on a whim. So I’m sorry that Deliverance Redux follows in her story’s footsteps. I just couldn’t help it!

We don’t particularly likes it much when strangers tromp upon our island. Take this feller for instance, all set up with his little blue fishin box and fancy catchin pole. Round here, strangers stick out like pups born in the wrong litter. Nones of us wears them kinda clothes nor hats such as the one he’s clamped over his hair. Straw, that’s what we likes upon our heads. Don’t much admire his boots neither. Gots to have sandals strapped to the feets so’s you can feel them itchy sand kernels between your toes. Otherwise, you can’t figger where you is. Don’t knows xactly how he found our scrap of paradise but I reckon he won’t be stayin long. Billy Bets’ll see to that. Yep. He’ll wander on down there, talk a spell. For you can say, “Let’s have us a bar-be-cue,” there’ll be fresh meat for the grill.

https://static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js

Comments
  1. Cannibals come in all shapes and sizes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. k rawson says:

    Ha, okay now I’m definitely not going to Pitcairn. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jellico84 says:

    Ohhh, viciously written. Love it! Especially like the dialect. It’s all too familiar aroun’ here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! My husband and I watched The BFG the night before I wrote this. That giant had a lot to do with the dialect. Where do you live?

      Like

      • jellico84 says:

        Kentucky, USA. Where worlds like “y’all” (You all/ All of you) and ‘Y’unto” (You want to) are common. If you’ve ever heard Jeff Foxworthy, it’s like that. 🙂 Giggles.

        Liked by 1 person

      • My dad grew up in Kansas – left, and got his grammar squared away. Not so much my Uncle’s wife. Wichita-born and raised. Sometimes it took me three tries to figger what she was a sayin.

        Like

  4. James says:

    Cannibalism twice in one day. Nasty folk.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Superb writing and what a voice.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Lish,

    You do have a knack for the vernacular. 😉 But, oh my, another guess who’s coming to be dinner story. You’re forgiven. This verbal entree is delightful.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    PS I finally posted my Pegman piece. Better late than never, right?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

