The Push

Posted: February 4, 2015 in Uncategorized

Although this is a rather peaceful picture, it leaves me with a cold and lonely feeling. Perhaps it’s the shadows? The abandoned building? The weak ray of light giving the scene the feeling of abandonment before the gloam of evening? At any rate, here’s my 101 word submission for this week’s gathering of muses. Thank you Melanie Greenwood for the picture and to Rochelle for providing it as a prompt. garden maze
“In this maze we call life, what really matters?
We are here – then gone in a blink.
A fraction of a second in the scheme of life.”

“But, Papa.”

“We are born, we live, we die.
In between, we do the best we can.
Good over evil. Wise over foolish.”

“But – ”

“Life must be lived to the fullest every second, every minute.
What counts is what we leave behind.
Your sister leaves a trail of love and laughter.
A myriad of friends.”

“But – ”

“Silence!”

Emil locks the truth inside.
Now no one will ever know Britta did not trip on the stairs.

Comments
  1. Poor Emil. He has to live with this. The contradiction between the father’s moralising and the nasty truth is deafening. Bravo.

    Like

  2. Poor Emil.. but even more poor Britta..But I guess there has to be a dark reasoning in Emil’s mind…

    Like

  3. So much darkness today, but you did a great job with the prompt! Very original.

    Like

  4. Sandra says:

    How must it feel to have a parent say that to you? Quite a gripping take on the prompt.

    Like

  5. There’s truth in that maze if you can find it.

    Like

  6. Dear Alicia,

    I remember my first realization as a small child that I would die some day and crying to my father. He held me in his arms and said, “you have a long life ahead of you.” This was my first thought in reading Papa’s words.

    Then Emil’s secret took me by surprise.

    Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  7. wildbilbo says:

    Cold, cold ending to that story, which really worked well. I found the father’s sermonising a bit irritating, but given it works in context, I guess that was intended? Doesn’t matter – Good work.
    KT

    Like

  8. Michael B. Fishman says:

    You’ve managed to make me feel sadness for a man who (I think?) may have murdered his daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. draliman says:

    I hope Emil can learn to live with his secret, since papa’s not listening.

    Like

  10. plaridel says:

    i didn’t expect the ending. well done.

    Like

  11. Fascinating, and need I add “inspiring?” Great twist at the end.

    Like

  12. Some things are better left untold, especially the hearer doesn’t want to hear.
    Randy

    Like

  13. Margaret says:

    Poor Emil. What a burden – I’m imagining a variety of scenarios that might have occurred, but Emil sounds too innocent to have intended to hurt his sister. Great dialogue and character dynamics.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I wonder if his father perhaps knows already, but doesn’t want to admit it to himself. He had, after all, already lost one child. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. hafong says:

    Oh, darkness in the maze of life. I like the simile and the story.

    Lily

    Like

  16. adamjasonp says:

    He’ll be scarred for life… 😦

    Like

  17. Amy Reese says:

    That would be a very difficult to have to carry around with you. I get the feeling that the father knows or suspects, but would rather not speak of it. Ever. Ooh, what a dark tale. This maze is pretty, but I can definitely see why you might take the dark path. Great story, Alicia.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. rgayer55 says:

    It’s hard to get a word in edgewise with Papa isn’t it. I think there are some things he’d rather not hear. Quite the eulogy, though. Now, I’ll be looking over my shoulder every time I head down a set of stairs.

    Like

  19. Excellent! Emil knows….

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Thanks – he does know, whatever it is… So glad you stopped by.

    Like

  21. Maybe Emil can be glad Papa didn’t find out the truth. He would never have let him forget it and probably would have disowned him. Well done, Alicia. — Suzanne

    Like

  22. how awesome!
    love the wit AND weight in your post.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

